Features / Games

Games I’d Like to See on the Vita

I love my new PlayStation Vita. I’ve been really enjoying launch games like Uncharted, Lumines and Motorstorm RC and I’m looking forward to upcoming titles like Gravity Rush and LittleBigPlanet. I am hoping there is a nice future for the slick new portable and there are a number of series, games and even genres I’d love to see represented on the system. So I thought I’d take a look at some of them here today.

LocoRoco 3

LocoRoco 2 is one of my favorite PSP games

This seems like a no brainer to me. The LocoRoco series stands as the best PSP exclusive franchise in my opinion, so a sequel on the Vita just makes sense to me. It also seems like a series that was designed for motion controls. I feel like the gyroscope could be used perfectly to control the world-tiliting function that LocoRoco is built around. Throw in the colorful graphics and catchy music the series is known for and I think LocoRoco 3 would be a great addition to the Vita library.

A New Syphon Filter Game

Logan's Shadow's ending left me hanging

I’m not sure what Sony’s plans are for the Syphon Filter series. There have been rumors of a PS3 version for some time, but I am not sure if there is any truth to them. Sony Bend, the series developer, has been working on a couple other franchises lately (Resistance on PSP and Uncharted on Vita), but I’d personally like to see them return to the series they have become known for. Syphon Filter: Dark Mirror and Logan’s Shadow somehow manged to excel on the PSP. Bend did a great job of making the series with its large shooting focus work on the PSP despite its single analog nub. With the Vita’s two sticks, they could really make the series shine I feel like. Logan’s Shadow leaves off with a cliffhanger, so I wouldn’t mind seeing that resolved too, but if Sony feels like this series isn’t marketable anymore, I’d take a new stealth/action/shooter IP from Bend in the vein of Syphon Filter as an alternative… I guess.

One of Sony’s Cartoony Platformers

I'd like to see the Vita's new control inputs used for some of Ratchet's weapons and gadgets

I’m a huge fan of good old cartoony platformers. Sony has sort of gotten away from them on the PS3 in favor of more realistic games, but I’d love to see one on the Vita. Sony has three great franchises in this style with Jak and Daxter, Ratchet & Clank and Sly Cooper. With the new Sly game coming to PS3 this year, I’d say go with one of the other two. I think the amount of control inputs would lend itself much better to a full Jak game similar to 2 and 3 than the PSP did. I’d welcome a new Daxter game ala the PSP game as well. I’d feel very comfortable with Ready at Dawn handling either of those. A new Ratchet & Clank game on the Vita would be fun too. I think its unique gadgets and even some of its weapons could make good use of the touchscreen or back touch panel. Plus any of these games’ graphics would really pop on the Vita’s OLED screen.

A New IP from Ready at Dawn

Ready at Dawn was definitely one of the PSP's best developers

While I would love to see Ready at Dawn work on a new Jak and/or Daxter game like I mentioned above, seeing them work on a new IP would be great too. They are supposedly making a new action/adventure IP for the PS3, but given their output on the PSP, it’d be shame to see them leave handhelds behind. No one had a handle on the PSP hardware quite like Ready at Dawn. Both God of War games and Daxter were top-notch graphically and are still considered to be some of the best games on the platform. I’d love to see what Ready at Dawn could do with the Vita hardware from a technical standpoint and it’d be fun to see what they would do without being beholden to a pre-existing franchise.

A Great FPS

The most promising upcoming FPS on the Vita in my opinion is Killzone

With the Vita’s two sticks, I really want to see an FPS that puts those things to the test. Uncharted and Unit 13’s shooting both feel good, but I want to see a quality shooter from the first-person perspective on the system. We have a couple of announced possibilities for this one (which may make this less relevant to this blog… sue me). Based on the footage and the developer’s track record, my hopes aren’t that high for Resistance: Burning Skies. Call of Duty and Bioshock are supposed to be getting entries, but next to nothing is known about them. I’m the most hopeful for Killzone. Other than a bit of footage during the initial reveal, we haven’t seen much on it, but we do know that Sony Cambridge is developing it. They are more or less a part of Guerilla Games at this point and helped out with KZ2 so if anyone other than GG should handle a KZ game, it’s Cambridge. Plus they have always been a good developer making the Medievil games back in the PS1 days and more recently LittleBigPlanet on the PSP. Now that we finally have those two sticks, I want to see someone nail the portable FPS. Whether it is one of these or an unknown project, I hope we see something excellent in the genre on the Vita.

A Great Sandbox Game

A portable Red Dead game would be a good for the Vita

I think with the kind of power the Vita possesses we could see a really awesome portable sandbox title now. I’d love to see something from Rockstar given how successful their titles do in the sales department. I’d be satisfied with either a GTA game or a Red Dead game though I’d like it to be developed for the system not just a port. I’m not the hugest Rockstar fan, so I’d be just as happy with someone else filling the sandbox void on the Vita. There is supposedly an exclusive Assassin’s Creed title in development for the system, but Ubisoft puts so little effort into handheld games it is hard to get excited there. Or maybe Sony could with a Jak game, an Infamous game (that may be too button heavy though) or a new IP. Hopefully we will see a sandbox game of some kind worth getting excited about on the Vita at some point.

Here are a few more quick things that should find their way to the Vita:

More Games from Sony’s Big First-Party Devs: Some of Sony’s biggest developers have never made anything for PSP, but I’d like more of them on the Vita. Particularly those with multiple teams. I have heard rumors that new IP’s from Media Molecule and Guerilla have Vita versions at least which would be a good start. Especially if they have some exclusive as well as cross-platform features.

Lots of PSN Games: Cheaper downloadable games are a must and the PS3 already has a plethora of these, so some them making their way over to the Vita and new ones that make use of the Vita’s varied control inputs would be great.

HD Collections: PS2 HD Collections would be a nice addition to the system’s library. MGS and Zone of Enders will both be headed to the Vita. I’d love to see more of these on the system if possible.

New IPs: New games and franchises developed directly for the platform are always good. They are a bit hard to fit into this style of blog, but they are always important to a new system’s library.

Okay that is what I have come up with. These are obviously tailored to my tastes, so feel free to let me know what types of games or series you’d like to see on the Vita or tell me what you think of my ideas in the comments below. Thanks for reading!

7 thoughts on “Games I’d Like to See on the Vita

  1. I would really like to see Final Fantasy 7 on Vita. Sony could totally pull it off and it started as a Playstation game anyway.

  2. All of these sound like great ideas. It will be interesting to see what developers will do with the improved hardware.

  3. I really want to see a great FPS on a Vita, but I’m just not sure who will deliver it for me. I’m not a fan of the series you mentioned, I normally get my fix from Halo or Valve games, which I don’t see coming there. I’m probably too picky for my own good here, whoever makes the first great Horde mode on the system will probably get my money. It’s too perfect of a fit for a portable to ignore.

    • Yeah that is true. Can’t see Valve developing for this. Maybe some dev will surprise you with an FPS you like on the Vita. Maybe some new IP or something… I don’t know. I really want to get some multiplayer going on it to see what it is like, but I don’t have anything with actual multiplayer yet.

Leave a Reply

