Television

TV Roundup: Week of 3/11 to 3/17

This round up is a quick look back at this past week in TV. We pull no punches and Matthew, Mark and Omarey will give you their funny, angry, sometimes disappointed but always succinct thoughts on the shows they watch. SPOILER ALERT- Please only read things about shows you have already watched to ensure you don’t ruin your experience. Here’s a look at our thoughts about the week of 3/11 – 3/17

 The Walking Dead


Mark:
This episode finally did what I’d been waiting since last season for. Though how the show is set up I don’t know how they will get along without Shane.
Matthew:
That ending was badass. The wide shot of Rick and Shane in the field was awesome and the fact that Rick actually killed him was great.
Omarey:
Lori, way to screw with Shane’s crazy mind, again. Well done. Darryl’s still awesome. Oh Shane,  you crazy person. Sorry to see you go.

Once Upon A Time


Omarey:
I liked the Little Red Riding Hood revelation, even though it was so heartbreaking. I love the way the stories unfold on this show. Also, the reveal at the end? OMG.

Comic Book Men


Mark:
Thank you comic book men for making me want to go to garage sales like an asshole!!! They spent 105 and made 1000 on everything!

Eastbound and Down


Mark:
When it comes to awkward, Kenny Powers gives the most awkward characters a run for their money and this funeral proves just that.  In the end, Kenny is always lovable and you end up rooting for him. (Editor’s Pick Favorite Episode of the Week: Mark)

House of Lies


Matthew:
I completely forget that a show with Kristen Bell in it exists. That is probably a bad sign for the show. I just plain forgot to watch it this week.
Omarey:
Doug and Clyde accidentally dancing up on each other was hilariously tragic. I love the relationship between Marty and his dad. Much better episode for me.

Californication


Mark:
Hank’s normal moves are all failing him and falling apart around him but this starts leading him towards the life he always wanted. Like always I’m counting the minutes until it falls apart.

Shameless


Mark:
Frank’s old wife shows up and all hell breaks loose. Lip learns a hard lesson in growing up. And Fiona tries to drive Lip home.

Alcatraz


Omarey:
This case didn’t really make a whole lot of sense. I liked the coroner flirting with Soto and him not realizing it at first.

The River


Matthew:
  This was kind of a letdown after last week’s episode. I did like the revelations about Kurt and some of the backstory we got on the other characters, but wasn’t totally comfortable with what ended up happening at the abandoned facility. I do think we’re in a good position to get some closure with the finale though which is good.

Southland


Matthew:
 The ending (with Ben and Sammy in particular) made me feel exactly how great moments in this show always do. And this episode sets up for the finale perfectly. Can’t wait. (Editor’s Pick Favorite Episode of the Week: Matthew)
Omarey: Things went crazy this week. A really good setup for the finale. I need to know what happens with Ben and and also how Lydia is. I really fear that she lost the baby which could really devastate her.

Survivor: One World


Mark:
Fuck this show! Fuck Colton! Fuck how did I get caught watching this garbage!!!
Matthew:
This was just boring especially after the ridiculousness of last week’s episode. The new tribes felt downright rigged too.
Omarey:
How did the tribes get mixed up and Colton still retains control? Something is wrong.

Modern Family


Matthew: Enjoyed the Dunphy storylines, but the other two didn’t do much for me. Phil continually telling the kids to gather around made me laugh more than it should have.
Omarey:
“It’s like I broke up the Beatles…”-Cam “…of clown parties.”-Mitchell “Eye roll” “Like I had a choice.” -Mitch and Cam. “Maybe now I don’t like what he is trying to ride.”-Jay. There’s a surprise in every box, SPOILER ALERT- Its Diabetes.” (Editor’s Pick Favorite Episode of the Week: Omarey)

Happy Endings


Matthew:
Great episode. Loved everything from Brad’s breakup restaurant to Max’s straw harpoon to Alex’s line at the end, “I’m Dave.”
Omarey: “Proud of the wordplay not the message.”-Dave “Mary Tyler Moore Tyler Moore Moore Moore.” & “Certified Pre-Owned Steak” -Max. That Brad and Jane breakup/makeup scene=adorable. “Nathan wasn’t a poet he was a bard.” – Alex

30 Rock


Matthew:
I always enjoy seeing The Beeper King on 30 Rock. His business of burning old DVDs onto laser discs was classic Dennis Duffy.
Omarey:
“None of the writers can go out on St. Patrick’s Day because we all have faces people want to punch. We are all hiding out here playing Colonizers of Mylar it’s a strategy board game from the makers of Goblet Quest and Virginity Keep.” – Lutz

Community


Matthew:
Not that good, but I thought the bits with Troy and Abed being normal were funny as was Britta’s knack for wedding planning.
Omarey: It was good to have Community back. Sadly, it returned with a weak episode. Andre’s proposal was awesome though.

Touch


Mark:
Not sure how I feel about this one. I liked the ending but I guess I’ll need to watch more.
Matthew:
Pretty good pilot. I liked the way things came together at the end. Tim Kring seems to have a thing for making me read when I watch TV though.
Omarey:
Not only do I get Kiefer Sutherland and Titus Welliver, but also a really cool interconnected series of stories. Excited for more.

Awake


Matthew:
I really enjoyed this week’s case with Rex being kidnapped and the way it integrated the show’s best elements (Britten’s interactions with his family) into the procedural side of the show.
Omarey: Cory would be so disappointed in his dad…Why Mr. Matthews Why? Great case though. This show is still intriguing. Also, Rex’s video to his dad was touching.

Join in by leaving your thoughts on the shows you watched in the comments. Check back next week to read our thoughts from this week in TV.

Leave a Reply

