Television

TV Roundup: Week of 9/23 to 9/29

This round up is a quick look back at this past week in TV. We pull no punches and Matthew, Mark and Omarey will give you their funny, angry, sometimes disappointed but always succinct thoughts on the shows they watch. SPOILER ALERT- Please only read things about shows you have already watched to ensure you don’t ruin your experience. Here’s a look at our thoughts about the week of 9/23 – 9/29

How I Met Your Mother

Matthew: A pretty mediocre premiere for what has become a pretty mediocre show. I did like Thomas Lennon as Klaus and Barney’s summary was pretty funny. Marshall and Lily’s running gag was like the opposite of funny and the episode generally fell flat for me as a whole.
Omarey:
The 52 second story of Barney & Robin was great! Marshall and Lily’s baby delirium aquarium vision was hilarious. From Klaus’ explanation to the end was great. If they can keep up this level of quality and progress toward the mother I will be happy!

Revolution

Matthew: Better than the pilot, but still plagued by some of the same issues. Like Charlie is still pretty bad, but I did like her locking Bow Guy (who will now forever be Bow Guy) to a post. Hoping the show continues to improve.
Omarey:
Giancarlo Esposito is awesome. It was a cool twist that Charlie’s mom is still alive,handled very poorly. Miles is awesome enough to make dealing with Charlie somewhat bearable.

Ben and Kate

Matthew: It has been like a month since I watched the pilot, so no specific moments are standing out for me, but this felt like a solid comedy pilot. I enjoyed the running high five joke more than I should have probably.

Go On

Matthew: John Cho has quietly been great on this show. I loved the bit with him on the phone doing the fishing pole gag.
Omarey:
“Dude, I defend you when you’re not here, make it easier.” “Go easy man, his wife died” The lady bunch. Jeremy Roenick and Michael Vartan cameos! Awesome.

The Mindy Project

Matthew: The first half of the episode was terrible, but it made me laugh a few times in the second half and won me over a bit. I am not sure it is my kind of comedy though.
Omarey: I liked this enough to keep watching I think. I honestly didn’t think I would be able to say that. Well done Mindy.

Vegas

Omarey: CSI with cowboys in the ’60s. It was pretty solid. I really enjoyed Carrie-Ann Moss and Taylor Handley. I guess I will stick with this.

Parenthood

Matthew: I really liked the scene where Adam tells Amber why he has been on edge lately and that he needs her help. Zeke actually had a pretty fun plot this week as well (which in my mind seems rare).
Omarey: I am not the biggest Christina fan but seeing her breakdown was heartbreaking. Zeke revealing his test score was pretty funny. This show really handles the family dramedy well.

Survivor


Matthew:
 The pre-challenge editing made it so obvious the blue tribe was going to lose the challenge and lose they did. Tribal was a mess. Cookies? Your tribe mates are working too hard at camp? The person you are snuggling with is like a little sister to you? What?!?
Omarey: I know a lot of it was editing but Roxy seems insane. She has a point though that couple could possibly reek havok.

Modern Family

Matthew: Good return for this show. Everything involving Phil’s facial hair was gold though the Cam/Mitchel storyline was kind of a miss.
Omarey: Funny episode. I liked the kidnapping of Jay, the telenovela homage and the flash forward plus Phil had some awesome facial hair. I agree with Shorty it should stay around for a bit.

Last Resort

Matthew: I liked it. It is definitely kind of ridiculous especially if you think about it too hard, but it was pretty intense and fun to watch. I’ll definitely be watching it going forward, but its ratings indicate it might not be long for this world. We shall see.
Omarey: It was over the top and silly at times but there were some redeeming parts to it like Scott Speedman and the scene in the cafe with the local drug lord that will be enough to keep me watching.

The Big Bang Theory

Matthew: This was a pretty lackluster premiere. I am kind of curious what they do with the Raj/Stuart thing going forward. I’m also wondering how long Howard will be in space.

Parks and Recreation

Matthew: Ben’s “bro” impression was pretty embarrassing, but kind of funny too. Also a good moment between Leslie and Ron in his office.
Omarey:
Ben as a bro was amazing. I loved April’s threat at the end. Andy training to be a cop will be a lot of fun. I will also really enjoy Leslie as a councilwoman. Also, I want to attempt to drink a child size beverage in a day.

Scandal

Omarey: The Quinn storyline was kinda ridiculous but shows just how much Olivia cares for people and how powerful she is. I liked this week’s case, good resolution. The president was pretty harsh on the first lady.

Person of Interest

Omarey: I loved Carter and Fusco interacting knowing about each other it was kinda funny. I love the format of this show and the flashbacks. It was neat to see Reese “talking to the machine about his friend, Finch” The wearhouse scene was great. Root is brilliant and chilling and makes for a great enemy. (Episode of the Week)

Elementary

Omarey: Good episode to get this show started. I like Sherlock and Holmes and their interaction. This will be a fun show to watch.

Louie


Matthew:
The doll part was hilarious. And while the part with Liz was a bit much to me, the ending with Louie in China was pretty fantastic. Very good finale.
Omarey: Louie’s Christmas with the girls was great. I liked the ending in China, strange but neat. Classic Louie.

Fringe

Matthew: Great premiere. I liked getting to know this new future we are in better and am very happy we got Olivia back so soon. Her reunion with Etta was very nice as well. (Episode of the Week)
Omarey: It is so bittersweet to be watching the last 13 episodes of Fringe. I enjoyed this season premiere. It is my second favorite Fringe one behind Olivia. I will enjoy fleshing out the world of the future. Plus Markham appearance! Awesome.

Join in by leaving your thoughts on the shows you watched in the comments. Check back next week to read our thoughts from this week in TV.

8 thoughts on “TV Roundup: Week of 9/23 to 9/29

  1. Glad to hear Elementary was good, still need to watch it, but I really liked what I saw in its commercials. Parks and Rec was my favorite, that bit with the sodas was that kind of cartoony satire I love in the series.

    • Good choice and yeah the soda bit on Parks was great. I want to attempt to drink the child size of something one day, haha.

      • I saw the pilot yesterday. Loved it. They captured what made me love Sherlock Holmes with how he figures out how to find clues using the smallest details. Not so sure on how the overall arc will play out, but if the focus stays on Holmes finding clues to solve crimes like that, I think I’ll really love it.

        • Are you talking about the BBC’s Sherlock or the Elementary? I think both did a good job of nailing the character of Sherlock Holmes I just give the nod to the BBC’s version.

        • Oh. Well if you like Elementary and are a fan of Sherlock Holmes, I highly recommend BBC’s Sherlock. It won’t disappoint.

  2. A little late to our roundup, but I just watched Elementary and enjoyed it as well. I imagine Omar would rather me be spending my time with the BBC version.

    Also I thought you told me you were dropping Vegas… ugh. I will have to check it out… I guess.

    • Glad you liked it and you know I would suggest that. Cumberbatch=Sherlock. Vegas is okay. tonight will kinda decide if I stick with it.

Leave a Reply

