Television

TV Roundup: Week of 10/21 to 10/27

This round up is a quick look back at this past week in TV. We pull no punches and Matthew and Omarey will give you their funny, angry, sometimes disappointed but always succinct thoughts on the shows they watch. SPOILER ALERT- Please only read things about shows you have already watched to ensure you don’t ruin your experience. Here’s a look at our thoughts about the week of 10/21 – 10/27

Once Upon A Time

Matthew: I forget if this happened much in Season 1, but there was no Regina, Emma or Henry. No Regina stinks, but the other two… I don’t really miss. The Hook storyline was a cool one and another neat twist on a classic tale by this show.
Omarey: The fantasy side is always the best side of the story. The stuff with Captain Hook was great. He is such a cool character. Belle is hot and Cora is a great villian.


Revenge

Matthew: Fake Amanda getting pushed over the balcony was just so deliciously soapy… I loved it. I’m still not sure about Nolan’s storyline and I feel bad that Jack is pretty much stuck with two people I dislike in Declan and Fake Amanda. He deserves a better plotline. Also Emily looked so good in that dress!
Omarey: This plan against Declan is crazy. If these dudes are rich why don’t they just buy the bar it is really elaborate for no reason. Declan is kind of the worst so he deserves to be in the spot.

The Walking Dead

Matthew: Another good episode. Even Lori and Carl aren’t terrible this season. I mean they have two seasons worth of me hating them to make up for, but they have been largely tolerable this season. Rick’s machete to the head of that one guy was awesome. I was less into him locking that one guy out, but whatever. New Rick is great.
Omarey: 
I was hoping one of those guys would be Tyrese. I like the scene where they were unsure if Hershel had changed or not.o This is the quality I was hoping from the show.

Homeland

Matthew: The end was crazy and a gamechanger. I’m surprised that Brody ended up getting taken in so soon, but the final scene was fantastic and it will be interesting to see where it goes from here. Also Brody interacting with Carrie is much better TV than say… Brody’s Shower Time at the Car Wash.
Omarey: This episode was great. I can’t believe they brought Brody in this soon. I know it was cliche but I didn’t mind Dana’s storyline.

Ben and Kate

Matthew: I really liked both the guest stars this week. Rob Corddry made a good pairing with BJ in her plotline and I loved Lindsay Sloane (who I always associate with Sabrina from back in the 90’s) as Ben’s crazy ex who keeps popping in at inopportune times.
Omarey:
This was another awesome episode it has some many good subtle lines. I really liked the end with them helping Maddie down.

Go On

Matthew: I’ve cooled off on this show a bit. This episode was still okay, but nothing is really standing out in my mind at the moment.
Omarey:
Fun episode. The dancing at the end was cool as was the emotional payoff stuff, I didn’t mind seeing Janie return here, it felt more natural.

Happy Endings

Matthew: Sinbrad and naked Jane were both great additions to this show. I also liked Brad secretly working which felt like something he would do. Dave and Alex’s cazsh nicknames like “Franklin and Cazsh” and “Rizzoli and Isles and Cazsh” were awesome too. The Max/Penny storyline was less good than the other two, but still had its moments.
Omarey: I liked the cold open with Penny’s mishap. Hilarious sequence. I loved both Sinbrad and seeing Jane naked but the best part was Brad pretending to not be at work. I liked Dave and Alex back together too.

Don’t Trust the B**** in Apt. 23

Omarey: I loved this episode so glad to have it back. The reunion stuff was hilarious as was the tag. This show is still fun.

Parenthood

Matthew: Not quite as good as the past two, but still pretty fantastic. Haddie was really great this episode, but I just can’t get behind her parents lying to her. I get what they are trying to do, but there are other ways to make sure she gets back to college. This is a bad way to do it and it will likely not end well.
Omarey: I loved everyone rallying behind Kristina and Adam. I don’t really dig Ryan and Amber for Ryan’s sake…Haddie was in the way and needed to go back to college, sad her parents had to lie to her though.

Survivor


Matthew: What the hell was that crap at the first challenge? Stuff like that is why I give this show such a hard time. I did like Malcolm owning that second challenge. Katie was pretty useless, so her being gone is fine. Also Abi annoys the crap out of me.
Omarey: That first challenge seemed poorly devised. Jeff Kent is one of my favorite remaining characters.

Arrow

Omarey:  Another great episode. I thought it would take longer for Diggle to figure it out but I am really glad he knows. They will make an awesome team.

Modern Family


Matthew: The best part was probably Claire scaring that one guy in the flashback of last year’s Halloween, but Phil and Claire’s story was good overall. I did kind of like the whole Angel/Devil thing with Manny even if it was a bit cliché and worn.
Omarey:
Some funny moments with Claire’s overboard scare last year  and the elaborate scare on Phil this year.

Suburgatory

Matthew: Not quite as good as last year’s Halloween episode, but a good one nonetheless. Tessa as Daphne was awesome (and she bumped it again). I especially liked her saying she forgot her cloak when trying to get away from the witches. Also the slutty skunk costume idea was pretty amazing.

Last Resort

Omarey: I like the COB learning to respect Grace and the tense negotiation scene. There is a lot of cheese in this show and it can be work but I am hanging on.

The Big Bang Theory

Matthew: I don’t think any of the storylines did much for me, but there were some good jokes thrown in. My favorites were Bernadette throwing her voice after Howard’s imitation, Sheldon shaking Leonard’s fist bump, Raj’s Halloween food puns and Blossom and Joey being in Amy’s list of favorite couples (written on a whiteboard too!).

30 Rock

Matthew: Gary Cole is pretty much always great in a guest spot and he was here as well. I loved the sequence with both Jack and Tracy breaking down the voting patterns of the country for different reasons.
Omarey: Unwindulax and Jenna was great as was the dissection of the political landscape simultaneously by Jack and Tracy. I loved the tag for the episode it was a great parody of the scenes for next week.

Parks and Recreation

Matthew: Leslie and Ben are such an easy couple to root for that you can’t help but love that final sequence. I also think Ron’s storyline with his new girlfriend should be a good one for him going forward.
Omarey:
That proposal was amazing! Classic Parks and Rec. I also really love Ron and new lady (Lucy Lawless).

The League

Omarey: Not as funny as the first two. No surprise to me because it had Rafi in it. He is hands down my least favorite character. Timothy Olyphant did a good job though.

Scandal

Omarey: I liked the story with the missing girl, I didn’t see the twist coming. I love Harrison and his defense of Olivia. Makes sense to me.

Person of Interest

Omarey: I liked Reese and Finch being on opposite sides of protecting the POI this week. I also liked that Riley died, he was a killer and it was what he deserved. I like Elias and Finch playing chess at the end as well.

Elementary

Omarey: I really like the “Holmes is the smartest person in the room” scenes. I also liked the end with Capt. Gregson.

The Vampire Diaries

Matthew: Stefan and Elena’s motorcycle ride and her kegstand were so cheesy and oddly enough felt a bit below this show. Elena seeing that Damon might be better for teaching her how to deal with this stuff is a good development though. I did love everything with Connor the Hunter. It seems it may give Klaus a purpose as well. Klaus and Damon was fun even if it just reminds me how much I miss Damon and Alaric hanging out.

Hunted

Omarey: They really beat the crap out of that guy. Sam’s fight scene was awesome, she is so tough.

Fringe

Matthew: This amazing episode was both thrilling and surprising at once. Very exciting throughout. Great moments like the reunion of Broyles and Olivia and then the shocking death of Etta. The latter really caught me offguard and was a sad moment, but it was handled well and I am excited to see where they go from here. Definitely the best Fringe episode of the season. (Episode of the Week)
Omarey: Matthew and I have been waiting for this season to have one of their “classic amazing Fringe” episodes. This season has been great so far and the set up for these episodes blows season 4 out of the water but until Friday’s episode they didn’t have that level of episode. I am glad they did. This episode had everything I wanted in it. Amazing drama, great action, a great reunion, fun callbacks, interesting mythology and a shocking but somehow satisfying ending. (Episode of the Week)

Join in by leaving your thoughts on the shows you watched in the comments. Check back next week to read our thoughts from this week in TV.

2 thoughts on “TV Roundup: Week of 10/21 to 10/27

  1. That Max/Penny story in Happy Endings killed the episode for me. It was one of those things I hate on TV where the writers just don’t get that people shouldn’t put up with that kind of shit from their friends.

    I really loved Modern Family’s Angel/Devil thing since the Angels are my favorite team.

    • You know I could see what you mean there. I was disappointed in that storyline as well. Especially after waiting all summer, I was hoping they’d nail the premiere, but they missed with that storyline.

Leave a Reply

