Television

TV Roundup: Week of 2/17 to 2/23

This round up is a quick look back at this past week in TV. We pull no punches and Matthew and Omarey will give you their funny, angry, sometimes disappointed but always succinct thoughts on the shows they watch. SPOILER ALERT- Please only read things about shows you have already watched to ensure you don’t ruin your experience. Here’s a look at our thoughts about the week of 2/17 – 2/23

Revenge

Matthew: I liked this episode a lot and hope this is the jumping off point for a return to the show in its best form. It feels like Emily’s purpose has been refocused and hopefully that means more classic Revenge. I really grew to like Amanda, but I think her death was handled well and I like how Ems grew to love her too.

The Walking Dead

Matthew: Such a frustrating episode though I did like the last ten or so minutes. Axel getting shot was a legitimate “Holy Shit!” moment for me. Where the hell was Tyrese though? I thought he’d be back and in the group by the end of this week.
Omarey: The Axel headshot was so messed up. The Governor is getting more rotten by the day. GOOD. Still upset about the treatment of Tyrese. This feels like it is heading straight to botchesville.

The Following

The Following 3

Matthew: Claire Matthews is just dumb. Why would she just hop into that car? I think I will miss Real World: Serial Killer Edition at the farmhouse if it is coming to an end.
Omarey: The cliffhanger here was awesome. The show has been very good so far. I hate how the cop let the guy walk up and disarm him. He got his just desserts by being iced for his stupidity though.

Survivor

survivor caramoan fans vs favorites

Matthew: I think last week I mentioned how the so called “Cool Kids” alliance was going to regret their lack of math skills since they didn’t know a four person group isn’t a majority of ten. Also Shamar is just the worst. I hate how he tries to pass off being lazy as a strategy.
Omarey: Shamar is the worst and not in a good way like Philip. I can’t wait until he’s gone.

Arrow

Omarey: Interesting case. I liked the bad guy this week but I liked Felicity all dolled up more. WOW. 

Modern Family


Matthew: Found this one kind of forgettable. Jay driving alongside the bus to help Manny was a nice moment (and like most good moments involving Manny it wasn’t because of Manny). The Gloria thing was just so predictable it kind of bugged me that they pretended the reveal wasn’t a forgone conclusion.

Suburgatory

Matthew: Tessa and Ryan on the rocks already? Not sure I like it. Too soon I say. I liked “Ask Tessa” and I honestly expected her to be wrong about the Chef.

Southland


Matthew: It just felt like everything was going wrong. The one vet kills himself. The kid gets shot because Mendoza’s a total ass. Then Lydia’s case is being played up for laughs a bit and her ending is a total punch in the gut. What an episode though. (Episode of the Week)
Omarey: If that is it for Chad Michael Murray I will be disappointed. He feels like he was barely in it at all. Lydia’s case was neat, but then whatever happened with her mom was so sad. It will be a rough ride for her.

The Americans

FX_The Americans

Matthew: Probably my favorite episode of the show yet. Some very tense sequences. Phil putting his foot down about which way to go was pretty cool. That one wig Keri Russell wore… no. Just no.
Omarey: Stan almost got his asset killed. The tension in those scenes were great. I love the dynamic between Philip and Elizabeth with how to handle their jobs.

The Vampire Diaries


Matthew:  How do you bring back Katherine for a few minutes in one episode and then have her not in the next? How could you do this to me TVD? I like where they were going with the Silas/Bonnie stuff. And I’m curious if Elena turning it off will make for a fun episode or two. Still not sure if Jeremy is actually dead for good. How could I be on this show?

Community

community

Omarey: A quirky themed episode based around Inspector Spacetime doesn’t sound like something I would want but it worked out really well.

Parks and Recreation

parksandrec(1)

Matthew: The second episode was pretty solid, but it was all about the first one for me. What a lovely wedding episode for a couple who really deserved one. Ron stole the show for me with him ripping out a sconce and making some rings plus his nice moment with Leslie.
Omarey: I just watched the first episode, Leslie and Ben their wedding was really adorable in classic Parks style. Pretty much everything worked in this episode. This show just understands its formula and works it to perfection.

Person of Interest

Person-of-Interest-Poster

Omarey: What an awesome outside of the box episode. I loved Shaw and seeing things on the relevant side of the machine. I especially loved the scene with the Office of Special Counsel guy. (Episode of the Week)

Scandal

scandal-cast

Omarey: Huck not being able to shower was both some needed comedic relief as well as really sad and telling. I liked the case of the week even though it was extremely predictable.

Suits

suits

Omarey:  This episode was definitely an example of war. I like the British law office head. He was funny and prepared an a formidable opponent.

Join in by leaving your thoughts on the shows you watched in the comments. Check back next week to read our thoughts from this week in TV.

Leave a Reply

