Games

My Game-Plan for the Rest of 2013

2013 has been a strong year for gaming fans with a host of fantastic new releases so far this year. This Fall looks packed with a bunch more promising games to look forward to as well as the launch of two home consoles in the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. I’ve been looking at what I plan to purchase during the rest of the year and figured I’d do a quick rundown of my personal must-have games for the end of 2013. Here they are.

Rayman Legends

Rayman Legends (PS3, September 3rd): I’d never really gotten into this series, but Rayman: Origins’ absolutely gorgeous artwork caught my eye a couple of years back and I was rewarded with a fun challenging 2D platforming experience to go along with some of the best visuals in gaming. The sequel coming out next week looks to deliver more hop and bop goodness with a few tweaks to its gameplay and graphics. If this game is on par with its predecessor, I expect Legends will be one of my favorite games of the year just like Origins was back in 2011.

Puppeteer 2

Puppeteer (PS3, September 10th): Just a week after the release of Rayman, Sony Japan is looking to deliver platforming fans another gem in the form of Puppeteer. This game has more of a 2.5D look with a very unique visual style where a theater changes around you as you play offering new levels and challenges as you progress. You play as a boy transformed into a puppet and the game offers over 100 heads for you to change into, each with different abilities. This along with the ever-changing levels should offer a ton of variety over the supposedly lengthy (15 hour) campaign. The charming aesthetic and varied gameplay look to combine for a promising new platformer for fans of the genre.

Watch Dogs 2

Watch Dogs (PS4, November 15th): While I will probably be getting a few other titles around launch for PS4, Watch Dogs looks to be the crown jewel of the next-gen launch line-ups to me. The central mechanic that allows you to hack into all kinds of systems throughout the city of Chicago looks to be a great twist on the sandbox arena and I expect this to be the next big series in the genre.. Ubisoft Montreal has made some real winners in their history, but is also known to stumble at times. I hope this ambitious title lives up to the hype and is more Far Cry 3 than Assassin’s Creed 3.

Tearaway 2

Tearaway (Vita, November 22nd): Tearaway is the next game from the talented minds at Media Molecule and it looks to have all the charm and creativity you’d expect from the studio who created LittleBigPlanet. The papercraft-style art direction gives the game a very unique and appealing look and it seems to really take advantage of the Vita’s various features in interesting ways as you interact with the game world as a god-like being while also guiding main character Iota on his (or her) journey. The Vita’s upcoming software lineup leaves a lot to be desired, but this is a must-have for me.

The Legend of Zelda A Link Between Worlds

The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds (3DS, November): Mmmm… Zelda. Even the lesser Zelda titles are a good time for me. There is nothing quite like a good Zelda dungeon and I’m hoping A Link Between Worlds can deliver on that aspect like the series typically does. I’m a little let down by the reusing of A Link to the Past’s overworld, but at least this game will feature a traditional overworld which the series hasn’t done in a while. I still need to get a 3DS, but I am hoping to do that before the year is over, and I’ll be snagging this game along with it.

Ratchet & Clank Into The Nexus

Ratchet & Clank: Into the Nexus (PS3, Holiday): This looks like the return to form that Ratchet & Clank fans like myself have been waiting for. While it may not be quite as large as the best entries in the series, it is going back to the traditional gameplay that made those special. With plenty of new weapons and gadgets, some interesting new 2D Clank levels and a story that wraps up the wonderful Future saga, it seems like a great way to finish up one of my favorite series’ runs on the PlayStation 3. This is the game I’m most looking forward to this Fall.

There are some other games coming before year’s end that I’m interested in, but these are the ones I am looking forward to the most. What are the must-have games of the rest of 2013 for you guys? Let me know in the comments below. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “My Game-Plan for the Rest of 2013

  1. Out of these, Ratchet and Rayman are my day one buys. Well not so much Rayman anymore, hope I get it early. Zelda will be by the end of the year, but WW HD takes priority. You know me and Wind Waker. Puppeteer looks interesting, but I’m waiting for your opinion to know what price to jump on. I’m sick of talking about Watchdogs and Tearaway will be dirt cheap next year so I’ll probably wait on it. Good list.

Leave a Reply

