Television

Our Most Anticipated Returning TV Shows of the Season

Last week we took a look at which of this year’s new shows we were most looking forward to checking out. Today we are back to talk a little about which returning shows we are most excited to be watching again this season. Without further ado, here they are:

Matt’s Picks

5. Orphan Black: There is such a dearth of great sci-fi TV right now which is just one of the reasons BBC America’s Orphan Black was such a welcome surprise last spring. Very cool. Very funny. Very well-written. Doesn’t take itself too seriously. And I just can’t say enough good things about Tatiana Maslany’s performance in it. She really carries the show and seeing all the clones and how they differ is a lot of fun (Alison is my favorite). I’m excited to see where they take this wild ride this coming season.

Suburgatory Finale 1

4. Suburgatory: With 30 Rock and Happy Endings gone, the competition for my favorite currently-airing comedy is wide open again. Of the comedies I still watch, Suburgatory seems to have the highest highs. The show that at its best, blows me away the most. And at the same time, the show has been known to be inconsistent and some of the upcoming cast changes worry me a bit. But returning to the surreal town of Chatswin is the most exciting proposition for me on the comedy landscape and I’m hoping this third season doesn’t let me down.

3. Parenthood: Parenthood was a good, sometimes great drama for its first three seasons, but with Season 4 it stepped into the elite category for me. Everything seemed to click and Parenthood’s very realistic portrayal of family relationships were brought up to another level with the right combination of storylines and character interactions. Now I’m curious to see if that was a perfect storm of sorts or if it can keep that same level of quality in Season 5. Either way, I’m excited to get to sit down with the Bravermans each week when the show returns next week.

Revenge 3

2. Revenge: I adored Season 1 of Revenge. It was just deliciously soapy fun. Season 2 stumbled a bit with ill-advised bar subplots dragging it down and somewhat unnecessary multi-national terrorist organizations looming over it. But the end of the season really seemed to get things back on track and set things up for a great third season. The show seems to have re-focused on Emily and her friends’ vendetta against the Graysons which should make for some good old fashioned revenging. Revenge gets bonus anticipation points because I like seeing Emily Van Camp on my TV screen.

1. Game of Thrones: It was a little over a year ago that I burned through the first two seasons of Game of Thrones. I loved it then, but it was reading the books this past year that made me get into it that much more. Knowing what is coming certainly makes for a different viewing experience than most shows I watch, but it’s still a ton of fun. I’ve been obsessing over new casting details and all of that good stuff this off-season and it just makes me that much more excited to see some of my favorite book moments translated to the visual medium. And that is the other thing: Season 4 will be covering my favorite section of the books which should make for the best season of Game of Thrones yet.

Omarey’s Picks

Parenthood 2

5. Parenthood: As far as family dramas go, Parenthood is the best. Not only are the Bravermans an awesome family but they really show a cross-section of family life in America. As a viewer, you become wrapped up in the conflicts and celebrations that the family encounters. You root for them, cry with them and laugh with them, just like you do with your actual family. Last season did a lot of great things and had some awesome guest stars like Ray Romano and Matt Lauria. I expect more great stuff from the Braverman clan this year as well.

4. Arrow: I am more of a Marvel than DC Comics guy. So, I was surprised at how much I liked Arrow. The characters, the action, and the stories were all really cool. I can totally see this show getting even better and bigger in scope. With what they did icing two major characters, they proved that anything is possible. They did a really good job with a nice mix of procedural, week to week stories and mythology, including some really cool flashbacks. I can’t wait to take another ride with Oliver and company keeping the streets of Starling City safe.

Scandal

3. Scandal: Shonda Rhimes lost me with Grey’s Anatomy and ghosts. But so far she has been right on the money with Scandal. It is a fun, political thriller mixed with a soapy romantic drama. The characters are engaging and fun to watch. The stories although sometimes formulaic and predictable are more often shocking and exciting. The show is really engaging to watch and talk about and it is fun to have a little soapy drama in your life. I am excited to check in to see what is going on at Olivia Pope and Associates, especially after last year’s cliffhanger.

2. Person of Interest: I am really excited to see more of the Adventures of Reese and Finch this season. Last year was really great and saw the addition of Samantha Shaw. She will continue to be awesome this year I assume. It will be great to have Root back in an updated role as well. My hope is that it doesn’t take away from Fusco and Carter, they are still great too. I loved all of the answers, backstory, and mythology we got last season and I am interested to see where they take it this year.

Sherlock

1. Sherlock:  I love this show. I read through all of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s tales of the master detective and have seen many adaptations. None of the other adaptations nail it as expertly as this one does even though it is set in the present. I love both Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman and think they are both spot on in their roles. I think the stories have unfolded so far have been fantastic, both engaging and fun. I am really excited to see what three stories they take on and expect another awesome series of Sherlock this year!

Well that will do it for our Fall TV preview. Hopefully we’ll be checking in with some of these shows in one way or another throughout the coming year. Feel free to let us know in the comments which returning shows you are most looking forward to watching again this season.

One thought on “Our Most Anticipated Returning TV Shows of the Season

  1. Great read, I love TV too haha! Of the various recent adaptations of Sherlock, the BBC version with Cumberbatch and Bilbo … er I mean Freeman is the best. I just finished series 1 and love their take on the master detective. You know there’s another Sherlock coming out staring Gandalf er I mean McKellen?

Leave a Reply

